10 Actors Turned Politicians Who Nailed It In Politics As Well. . .

Changing one’s acting career altogether seems like a big deal but there are many Bollywood celebrities who have been there and done that. While a career in politics is entirely opposite to that of the glam world, many actors went on to take up prominent roles as politicians.


The list is huge and you might be surprised to find one of your favorite celebrities nailing it as politicians as well. Here are the top 10 actor-turned-politicians –

  1. Shabana Azmi
    The ageless beauty made her entry into politics when she was nominated as a Member of Rajya Sabha in 1997. She is known for her active social life and taking up social causes.
  1. Govinda
    The 90s comedy king entered politics as an MP of Indian National Congress. From 2004 till 2009, he remained MP from Mumbai North constituency. Post-2009, he received a lot of criticism and went back to the movies.
  1. Jaya Bachchan
    Known for her subtle and classy performances, she is also known for her successful tenure in the world of politics. She was first elected as an MP from the Samajwadi Party.
  1. Dharmendra
    The versatile actor has made waves into the politics as well. He started as a Member of Parliament of BJP from Bikaner constituency and gained popularity as a politician as well.
  1. Vinod Khanna
    The actor made his way into politics in 1997 when he joined BJP. He was later elected from Gurdaspur constituency of Punjab in 1999.
  1. Jayalalithaa Jayaram
    Amma, as the world calls her, was a superstar in South Indian films before she entered politics. She is touted as the most successful politicians and one of the most powerful celebrity-turned-politician.
  1. Shatrughan Sinha
    The ‘Khamosh’ actor, also named as ‘Shotgun’ made entry into politics by defeating his rival Shekhar Suman in Patna Sahib of Bihar. He was also the head of BJP’s cultural and arts department.
  1. Jaya Prada
    Jaya Prada has been a versatile actress who worked in many regional and Bollywood films first entered politics in 1994 when she joined Telugu Desam Party. After a controversy related to her films, she was eventually expelled from the party.
  1. Hema Malini
    The ‘dream girl’ of Bollywood was a breath of fresh air when she was elected as a member of Rajya Sabha. She joined BJP formally in 2004 and had been active in politics since then.
  1. Kirron Kher
    She joined BJP in 2009 and was declared a Lok Sabha candidate from Chandigarh in 2014. In May 2014, she defeated Pawan Bansal of Congress by a great margin in Chandigarh.

Like Us on Facebook


Facebook Comments